Top 5 Mao Asada programs

The things I do when I’m bored…

(And I’m breaking up the gymnastics monopoly on my blog)

(This was really hard)

5. Ballade No. 1, 2010 Dreams on Ice

It was so hard to choose between this, Claire De Lune, Liebestraume, and So Deep is The Night, but eventually this program won out because… it’s just pure Mao. Elegance, grace, musicality, awesome twizzles, and beautiful spirals

4. Fantasia for Violin and Orchestra, 2008 World Championships

According to me (:P), this is the finest competition program to come out of the Mao-Tarasova collaboration (Swan Lake is a close second). This skate is a nice combination of elegance and drama, and one of my favorite step sequences.

3. I Vow To Thee My Country/Jupiter, The Ice 2011

Unfortunately, the The Ice video is now private, so here is the Japanese nationals version. Anyway… this program is so moving and poignant, especially considering everything both Japan and Mao went through in 2011.

The first time I saw this program, I began crying at the end

2. Fantaisie-Impromptu, 2007 Grand Prix Final

3a
3f+3t
3f+3lo in the second half

Complete with Mao’s grace and elegance

O_O

1. Nocturne in E-flat Major, 2006 Japanese National Championships

Although I appreciate her efforts to branch out her style and programs, my favorite style of Mao is her just being Mao, a pure, floaty, elegant fairy effortlessly floating across the ice.

Leave a Reply

