European Championships recap: Part 1

I’m home from my vacation in Florida, so now I have time to ramble on to the 3 people reading still my blog…

EC recap part one: How badly did I predict the competition?

(Answer: very)

AA

I predicted Aliya Mustafina for gold… she won!

I predicted Russia’s second gymnast for silver… Anastasia Grishina beat Ksenia Afanaseva in qualifying and finished 3rd… not too shabby

I predicted Larisa Iordache for bronze… she got silver… again not too shabby

I hoped Gabby Jupp would place in the top 5… she injured herself on her beam dismount in qualifying and had to withdraw 😦

I had no idea who Guilia Steingruber was before this competition… she tied for 4th place with Diana Bulimar

I was 3/3 on podiums and 1/3 on placements… so far so good

Vault

I predicted Janine Berger for gold… she wasn’t even in the competition (oops)

I predicted Maria Paseka for silver… she crashed both of her vaults and finished 7th 😦

I had Larisa Iordache win bronze because I had no idea who else was competing 2 vaults… she tied for silver

I didn’t know that Guilia Steingruber had a Rudi and a Tuskahara 1/1… she vaulted both and won

I had no clue that the Netherlands had a decent gymnastics program… one of their new seniors, Noel van Klaveren vaulted a DTY and Tuskahara 1/1 and tied with Larisa Iordache for silver

I was 1/3 on podiums and 1/3 on placements…

Bars

I predicted Aliya Mustafina for gold… she won!

I predicted Becky Downie and Ruby Harrold for silver and bronze… they both bombed and finished in 7th and 8th place 😦 😦

I had no clue that Swedish gymnastics existed… Sweden’s Jonna Adlerteg won the silver

I thought Maria Paseka wouldn’t compete bars… she won the bronze…

I predicted Anastasia Grishina for 4th place… she bombed qualifications 😦

Podium: 1/3, Placements: 1/3

Beam

I hoped Aliya Mustafina would win… she bombed the qualifying round 😦

I predicted Larisa Iordache for silver… she won!

I hoped Elisabetta Preziosa would win bronze… she wasn’t even in the competition (facepalm)

I wanted one of Ksenia Afanaseva or Anastasia Grishina to qualify to beam EF… Ksenia bombed the qualifying round and Anastasia only got in after Gabby Jupp got injured, but won the bronze

I hoped Vanessa Ferrari would make it into the finals… she didn’t qualify

I thought Diana Bulimar’s beam wasn’t high enough in difficulty… she proved me wrong and won the silver

Podiums: 1/3, Placements 0/3 😦

Floor

I hoped Ksenia Afanaseva would win… she did!

I hoped Larisa Iordache and Diana Bulimar would win silver and bronze… they did!

I wanted Aliya Mustafina in EF… she qualified but was pulled out and replaced with Anastasia Grishina

Podium 3/3, Placements 3/3!!!!!!! 😀

(real post coming soon)

Leave a Reply

